My lemon curd experiment

I know I mentioned some weeks ago that I’d made some lemon curd…so finally I have a few minutes before bedtime to post the details….I’m still thinking about it, as it was particularly yummy and, as I’d been challenged to come up with a dessert that would go into a pudding basin mould, I thought I’d combine my lemon curd attempt with making a suitable pud for a BBQ I was invited to over the August Bank Holiday weekend (oh what a distant memory now – though it’s actually warmer now than it was that day!!).

It’s pretty straight forward to make lemon curd – even Delia says so 🙂

I used a tip I read, to stir with a whisk rather than a wooden spoon, so whether that helped the creaminess factor I don’t know. It took a lot longer to thicken than my recipe stated, but it got there eventually, though the pictures show it wasn’t looking very promising at first!! To make 2 decent jars of the lemony good stuff, simply put the zest and juice of 4 lemons (unwaxed are nicest), 200g caster sugar, 100g butter into a bowl over a pan of simmering water. Once the butter has melted add 4 lightly beaten eggs and stir occasionally with a whisk until the mixture thickens – this took around 20 minutes. Cool then pour into clean jars. Keep in the fridge or eat immediately if you’re greedy! Would keep for a week or two though.

So after admiring the sunshiny loveliness of the curd I used it to make a frozen lemon, cream and meringue bombe. You need some meringue pieces – to save time on this occasion I used shop bought meringue nests, which I broke into pieces – I wasn’t at all impressed with the quality of the meringue so it really is worth making your own – it’s not hard so have a go! I whisked a vast quantity of icing sugar with whipping cream and the juice of about half a lemon – this thickened up into a cloud of sweetened lactic gorgeousness (had a few sneaky spoonfuls to try it out at this point….). So…. simply put a layer of the cream mixture, followed by dollops of lemon curd and meringue pieces and keep repeating until you fill your cling film lined pudding basin (or loaf tin, if you want to make a terrine). Now.. on top of this I laid a thin layer of madeira sponge which I’d soaked in a big glug of sherry – so the sponge fitted the diameter of the pudding basin… hope you’re following this! Pop it into the freezer overnight.

To turn out, I sat the bowl in a washing up bowl of hot water for a couple of minutes then turned onto a serving plate. Garnished the top with some lovely raspberries…. a good sprinkling of icing sugar would have been nice too. It was very yummy indeed…. the sherry had infused the whole bombe…it wasn’t overly sweet…just lemony and lovely for sharing with family and friends. Give it a try! If you want more exact quantities just leave me a comment and I’ll dig out the details!

Leave a Reply

